Sunday, May 8, 2016

COMING SOON: Walk of Infamy

Some of you are about to fist-pump the air while saying, “It’s about time!”

Others of you are going to be hearing about the Rhea Jensen series for the first time and not be sure if it’s worth getting excited about.

Either way, it’s official: the next book of mine to hit digital shelves will be Walk of Infamy—the final book in the Rhea Jensen series. And while this is Book 6 in the series (Book 7, if you count The Avenues novella), Walk of Infamy is a STANDALONE NOVEL. This means you can read it whether you’ve read any of the other books in the Rhea Jensen series or not.

What I can tell you is that if you loved Pimpernel, you’ll definitely want to pick up Walk of Infamy; and if you like the Rhea Jensen series, then buckle up. Things are about to get real.

What’s Walk of Infamy About? 

Rhea Jensen has a date with destiny. A powerful, multi-national group calling itself The Fours considers her a threat. She doesn’t know why The Fours think this, only that they will destroy her life and the lives of everyone she loves if she doesn’t do as she’s asked.

Rhea knows where to be, when to be there, and that the odds are not in her favor for a happy ending. That’s it. What she’s about to learn is that the past seven years of her life were not what they seemed, and there is a 99.9% chance she will not live to see another day. Her date with destiny is rigged to become a date with infamy.

The question Rhea must ask herself is: Is she going to die on her terms, or on The Fours terms?

Her life, and the end thereof, has just become a game for the rich and powerful to watch play out live, and they’ve played this game many time before with other people more skilled than Rhea. The rules are designed so that the House wins every time. Rhea knows she can’t win—not without a miracle. But if she’s not going to get what she wants, well then, neither are The Fours. The clock is running, though, so whatever Rhea’s going to do, she needs to do it quick.

My Thoughts About the Book

Walk of Infamy is a total ride that keeps on moving and will be a bit intense for some people. Yes, it is a standalone novel, but those of you who have read the rest of the series know that there’s a lot to tie in and tie up, and none of it is for the faint of heart.

While Walk of Infamy is a clean read and is PG as far as outright content, thematically this book is easily PG-13 and there are triggers in it for sensitive readers. I like to be upfront about that, because I know that while some readers love intensity, others like their reading time to be a trigger-free escape. Walk of Infamy has some triggers along the way, so if you have any concerns about whether or not this book is for you, feel free to use the “Look Inside” feature on Amazon to start reading before you buy.

All that said, I’m so excited to finally get this book out there. Those of you who have been waiting for it know that it’s taken me quite a while. I adore Rhea and her story, but this last book is pretty rated-R in my mind and it took a while to figure out how to tell Rhea’s final chapter in the right way.

So…Rhea fans and Pimpernel fans? This one’s for you! Buckle up, and get ready for a serious ride in 2016, because Walk of Infamy is coming your way!

Look for it coming this June. :)

1 comment:

  1. Are there pre-orders available? I want/need to read it as soon as I possibly can!